WWW PICES
PICES 2013 Annual Meeting
Communicating forecasts, uncertainty and consequences of
ecosystem change
October 11–20, Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Transportation

Nanaimo is on the eastern coast of Vancouver Island, about a 2-hour drive north of Victoria.  The Nanaimo Airport (airport code:  YCD) is about 18 km south of Nanaimo’s city core.  The closest large international airport is Vancouver (airport code:  YVR) which serves 5-7 daily connections to Nanaimo (~20-minute flight).  It takes about 20 minutes to get from the airport to the city center by taxi (~$35) or shuttle bus ($26, cheaper if group is from 3 people and up).  There are two car ferry routes between Vancouver and Nanaimo (BC Ferries:  Tsawwassen to Duke Point or Horseshoe Bay to Departure Bay).  There is also seaplane service (Westcoast Air/Harbour Air) from Vancouver Harbour downtown and the Vancouver Airport (transfer from air terminal to river terminal) to Nanaimo Harbour. (Please note that seaplanes have a small luggage limit.)

Nanaimo Airport - www.nanaimoairport.com

Nanaimo Airporter Shuttle - http://www.nanaimoairporter.com/

Tourism Nanaimo - http://www.tourismnanaimo.com/

Vancouver Island Travel Guide - http://www.vancouverisland.travel/

Tourism British Columbia - http://www.hellobc.com/

Tourism Vancouver - http://www.tourismvancouver.com/

Tourism Victoria - http://www.tourismvictoria.com/

Vancouver Airport - http://www.yvr.ca/en/default.aspx

Vancouver SkyTrain - http://www.translink.ca/en/Schedules-and-Maps/SkyTrain.aspx

BC Ferries - www.bcferries.com

Pacific Coach Buses - http://www.pacificcoach.com/

Westcoast Air/Harbour Air Seaplanes - http://www.westcoastair.com/ or http://www.harbour-air.com/index.php

Weather - http://www.weatheroffice.gc.ca/city/pages/bc-20_metric_e.html

 
 
 
 
Adobe Acrobat Reader Publications marked PDF can be viewed and or printed using the Adobe Acrobat Reader®
Home | About | Members | News | Projects | Publications | Meetings | Capacity Development | Contact Us

© All content copyright PICES 2017  All Rights Reserved.   Web Site Design by PICES.   Contact Webmaster Julia Yazvenko