WWW PICES

Advisory Panel on Iron Fertilization Experiment

Disbanded (Oct. 1998 - Oct. 2007)

 
Acronym: IFEP
Parent: CCCC until Oct. 2005; BIO since Oct. 2005
Co-Chairmen:
Chi Shing (C.S.) Wong (Canada) <WongCS@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca>
Shigenobu Takeda (Japan) <atakeda@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp>

Terms of Reference:

  1. Examine the reasoning for a subarctic iron enhancement experiment;
  2. Examine the scale, disciplines, and resources (personnel and ships) required ensuring success of the experiment;
  3. Design the experiment and its timing, particularly, the suite of chemical measurements and forms of iron, the biological parameters, the tracking of the spread of iron-induced bloom using SF6 tracer.
Products
IFEP Advisory Panel's Annual Reports
2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999
Other Publications

Brief report on a SEEDS-II (Subarctic Pacific Iron Experiment for Ecosystem Dynamics Study II) Workshop held on Oct. 17-18, 2005, at the Ocean Research Institute, University of Tokyo, Japan (PICES Press, Vol. 14, No. 1, Jan. 2006)

Report of the 2004 Workshop on "In Situ Iron Enrichment Experiments in the Eastern
and Western Subarctic Pacific"

(Sci. Rep. No 31, Sep. 2006)



Members (last update on Dec.12, 2007)
Dr. Neil M. Price
Department of Biology
McGill University
1205 Avenue Docteur Penfield
Montreal , QC
Canada H3A 1B1
Phone: (1-514) 398-6468
Fax: (1-514) 398-5069
E-mail: neil.price@mcgill.ca
Dr. Chi Shing (C.S.) Wong
IFEP Co-Chairman
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Institute of Ocean Sciences
P.O. Box 6000
Sidney , BC
Canada V8L 4B2
Phone: (1-250) 363-6407
Fax: (1-250) 363-6476
E-mail: WongCS@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Prof. Paul J. Harrison
AMCE Program
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Clear Water Bay, Kowloon
Hong Kong
Phone: (852-2358) 7348
Fax: (852-2358) 8363
E-mail: harrison@ust.hk
Dr. Isao Kudo
Graduate School of Fisheries Sciences
Hokkaido University
N13W8, Kita-ku
Sapporo , Hokkaido
Japan 060-0813
Phone: (81-11)706-5311
Fax: (81-11)706-5311
E-mail: ikudo@fish.hokudai.ac.jp

Dr. Jun Nishioka
Institute of Low Temperature Science
Hokkaido University
N19W8, Kita-ku
Sapporo , Hokkaido
Japan 060-0819
Phone: (81-11) 706-7655
Fax: (81-11) 706-7142
E-mail: nishioka@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp
Dr. Hiroaki Saito
Biological Oceanography Section
Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute, FRA
3-27-5 Shinhama-cho
Shiogama , Miyagi
Japan 985-0001
Phone: (81-22) 365-9929
Fax: (81-22) 367-1250
E-mail: hsaito@affrc.go.jp

Dr. Shigenobu Takeda
IFEP Co-Chairman
Department of Aquatic Bioscience
University of Tokyo
1-1-1 Yayoi, Bunkyo-ku
Tokyo
Japan 113-8657
Phone: (81-3) 5841-5290
Fax: (81-3) 5841-5308
E-mail: atakeda@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Dr. Atsushi Tsuda
Ocean Research Institute
University of Tokyo
1-15-1 Minamidai, Nakano-ku
Tokyo
Japan 164-8639
Phone: (81-3) 5351-6476
Fax: (81-3) 5351-6481
E-mail: tsuda@ori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Prof. Xiuren Ning
Marine Ecosystem and Biogeochemistry
Second Institute of Oceanography, SOA
36 Baochubei Road
Hangzhou , Zhejiang
People's Republic of China 310012
Phone: (86-571) 8806-8053
Fax: (86-571) 8807-1539
E-mail: ning_xr@126.com
Prof. Mingyu Zhou
National Marine Environmental Forecasting Centre, SOA
8 Dahuisi Road, Haidian District
Beijing
People's Republic of China 100081
Phone: (86-10) 6217-3637
Fax: (86-10) 6217-3620
E-mail: mzhou@ht.rol.cn.net

Prof. Kyu-Dae Cho
College of Env. and Marine Sci. and Tech.
Pukyong National University
559-1 Daeyeon-3-dong, Nam-gu
Busan
Republic of Korea 608-737
Phone: (82-51) 620-6211
E-mail: kdcho@pknu.ac.kr
Dr. Gi-Hoon Hong
Korea Ocean R&D Institute (KORDI)
1270 Sa-dong, Sangrok-gu
Seoul
Republic of Korea 425-600
Phone: (82-31) 400-6180
Fax: (82-31) 408-4493
E-mail: ghhong@kordi.re.kr

Dr. Alexander A. Belov
Russian Federal Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography (VNIRO)
17 V. Krasnoselskaya Street
Moscow
Russia 107140
Phone: (7-495) 264 8901
Fax: (7-495) 264-9187
E-mail: belov@vniro.ru
Dr. Vladimir M. Shulkin
Pacific Geographical Institute
Far Eastern Branch of Russian Academy of Science
7 Radio Street
Vladivostok , Primorsky krai
Russia 690041
Phone: (7-4232) 320-652
Fax: (7-4232) 312-833
E-mail: shulkin@tig.dvo.ru

Prof. Robert Richard Bidigare
Oceanography Department
University of Hawaii
1000 Pope Rd.
Honolulu , HI
U.S.A. 96822
Phone: (1-808) 956-8146
Fax: (1-808) 956-5308
E-mail: bidigare@hawaii.edu
Dr. Kenneth Coale
Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
California State University
8272 Moss Landing Rd.
Moss Landing , CA
U.S.A. 95039
Phone: (1-831) 771-4400
Fax: (1-831) 632-4403
E-mail: coale@mlml.calstate.edu

Dr. William P. Cochlan
Romberg Tiburon Center for Environmental Studies
San Francisco State University
3152 Paradise Dr.
Tiburon , CA
U.S.A. 94920-1205
Phone: (1-415) 338-3541
Fax: (1-415) 435-7120
E-mail: cochlan@sfsu.edu
Dr. Mark L. Wells
School of Marine Sciences
University of Maine
5741 Libby Hall
Orono , ME
U.S.A. 04469
Phone: (1-207) 581-4322
Fax: (1-207) 581-4388
E-mail: mlwells@maine.ed

 

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader Publications marked PDF can be viewed and or printed using the Adobe Acrobat Reader®
Home | About | Members | News | Projects | Publications | Meetings | Capacity Development | Contact Us

© All content copyright PICES 2014  All Rights Reserved.   Web Site Design by PICES.   Contact Webmaster Julia Yazvenko